International Students & English as a Second Language (ESL)

 

The Page 1+ search box can be found on our homepage and every program guide. This is your access to everything that Page 1+ offers!

The Keyword Search bar is direct access to the basic search in Page 1+. This searches everything the library has, from physical books in our collection to all of our online resources.

Note: This does not include image databases, like Britannica Image Quest, or specialty databases, like ChiltonLibrary and Interactive Human Anatomy.

The logos at the top will bring you to the Page 1+ homepage, and the links below will bring you to specific search types

• Advanced Search
• Journals - this searches journal titles, not articles within them
• Citation Search - this fetches articles based on citation information
• What is Page 1+ - our information page on the new system 

These are the same options in the top menu of Page 1+, but you have one additional search option:

• Browse Search - a virtual shelf browsing feature of both books and ebooks. This allows you to search a call number and see other items beside it.

 

The Page 1+ interface is designed to be simple to use, with help all along the way! The Green "Ask Us" button on the top left side is always there - this is the same LibChat that you're familiar with using on our website. While the library is open, it connects you directly to Sault College Library staff so we can help you with quick clarifications, in-depth answers and everything in-between. 

 

 

Starting off, the "Search anything" bar is a basic, keyword search. You can find the Advanced Search option to the right of the search bar, and other options in the top menu.

 

 

The Advance Search menu or Pull Down menu to the right of the search bar allows you to switch between different search scopes:

• Everything: Sault College Library's electronic and physical resources
• Library Catalogue: Sault College Library physical resources, ebooks, and streaming video
• Articles: Sault College Library electronic resources
• Course Reserves: items put on reserve by instructors for their programs - you can search by course name, course code, instructor name or resource title
• Discovery Network Catalogue: Expanded catalogue of all 18 Ontario College Libraries participating in Page 1+

Build your search using chosen search terms and various search strategies.  See Database Search Strategies for more information on building effective search terms. 

Once you have built your search terms/statement, you can search by pressing "Enter" or the button. Your results page should look like the following:

 

The "Everything" search in Page 1+ will show you books, journals, articles, streaming videos, DVDs, equipment and more.

For this example, we will look at the record 3: the article New Core Curriculum for Urologic Nursing Released. (MEDSURG Minutes). You can click on the image or the title to be brought in the record. If you'd like to go right into looking at links, click the green "Available Online" link.

 

 

Records in Page 1+ are all formatted the same, regardless of material type, with the title and short information at the top, followed by the permalink (to the Page 1+ record), and then the "Get it" section. In this example, it says "View Online". If the record was a book or other physical material, it would say "Get it" and the location in the library to find the item (see the example below).

The bottom of an article record shows the details (Title, Publisher, Subjects, etc).

 

Clicking on any of the links in "View Online" will bring you to the article.

 

Physical item records are a bit different: as stated above, the "Get It" sections shows the item's location in the library. In this example, we're looking at The Two Towers

 

 

This shows the book in the Reading Room, with a call number of FIC TOL b (SF/F)

All fiction novels (with the exception of classic literature) are in the Reading Room, separated by genre. SF/F is the Science Fiction / Fantasy section. 

You'll also notice that this record has a "Related Reading" menu on the right side. Book records are enhanced by Syndetics Unbound, and have some extra features - these are found in Related Reading and in Explore at the bottom of the record.

Explore for this record contains the following:

 

 

Each record enhanced by Syndetics Unbound will have different options, but this example has: Summary, About the Author, Series, Reader Reviews, Tags, Book Profile, and Shelf Browse. These options are designed to give you information about the book and author, suggestions for other similar titles (in the same series, by the same author or in the same genre), and allow you to virtually browse the library shelf.

Syndetics Unbound also populates for eBooks, DVDs and some streaming videos.

 

Call numbers are the key to finding books on the shelf. They are found on the spine label of each item and also in the online catalogue. Each item has its own unique call number which identifies where it is located in the library. The call number system used by Sault College, the Library of Congress Classification system, categorizes materials by subject.

 

Which Call Numbers Are Related To Your Program?

Visit your program's Program Guide for a listing of subjects and call numbers relating to your area of study. 

What do Call Numbers look like?

Call numbers are made up of letters and numbers. On books, they are written vertically (as seen in the image to the left), whereas online, they are written horizontally.

Example:
The call number to the left would read: QC611.8 .A5 I57 1973 v.2 

How to find your book on the shelf

Use the range tabs on the end of each bookshelf to help you find the area in which your book would be located. These ranges are in alphabetical order. For example, a shelf with a range tab showing “HV 6431 – KF 9763” would contain all books beginning with call numbers in this range. Other books in this area would include HX73, JL521, and KE613. 

Reading the Shelf

• The first line is always a letter and is filed alphabetically.
• The second line is a number line and is filed numerically. Sometimes there is a decimal point in the second line. If the number is too big, it can be split into two lines.
• The third line is a cutter. It begins with a decimal, then a letter, followed by numbers. Read the letter first, then treat the numbers as a decimal. There may be more than one cutter line.
• Other lines may include volume numbers, copy numbers, and/or dates.

Things to remember:

• Letters before numbers.
• Nothing comes before something.

Q 25 .R5

QC 600 .S53 2006

QC 611.8 .A47 2004

QC 611.8 A5 I57 1973 v.1

QC 611.8 .A5 I57 1973 v.2

Sault College subscribes to a wide variety of online databases that provide full-text articles and citations for thousands of magazine, journal and newspaper titles. The steps below will help you construct an effective search and achieve targeted results.

Library Staff are available to assist you and each database offers online help.

How to Develop and Perform a Database Search
1. Choose a Topic	For example: Nutrition for Children
2. Brainstorm a variety of keywords to use in your search and further define your topic	Use a dictionary, thesaurus, or online sources to find synonyms for your keywords. Alternate search terms for example "Nutrition for Children" may include the following: Nutrition = diet or food. Children = child, youth, juvenile, or kids. Choose the right keywords and combining them in a logical way will ensure that your search is effective and successful.
3. Design a Search Strategy	Use limiters provided by the database to get specific results. Limit examples: Full-text articles only Peer-reviewed articles only By publication date (only articles published in the last 'X' years) To a specific journal title Design a search using Boolean Operators (OR, AND, NOT), truncation, or wildcards to create a precision search.
4. Select Databases for your Search
5. Display the Results of the Search and Modify as Required	The list of results will appear in chronological order, newest first. Select an article to view details (citation, abstract, or full-text). If you cannot find full-text articles, try searching a different database or contact library staff. If you find a fantastic article that the library does not have full-text for, consider using our Interlibrary Loan service. If we can obtain it from another library, it will be in within 3-10 business days
6. Evaluate Search Results	Evaluating search results requires you to address five basic questions: Who is the author/publisher? Who is the information intended for? What kind of source is it? Is it reliable? Why has it been produced? Is it biased? Is it intended for commercial use? Where was the source published? How current is the information? When was it made available?
7. Record your Search Strategy	Keep a record of your successful search strategy by copying it or saving it electronically. Some databases (ie, Ebsco) provide an option to create an account and save searches in the database. You must be signed in to use the save feature on databases​
8. Select Records to Print, Download or Email	As you look through your search results, you can select articles by clicking the title or checkbox on the record. Articles can be printed, downloaded or emailed.

 

Boolean Operators

One of the most powerful capabilities of online searching is the ability to combine concepts.  Boolean operators control the logical relationships among concepts and link two or more search terms to make your search more precise. 

 

Boolean logic consists of three logical operators:

• AND
• OR
• NOT

 

Simple Search without Using Boolean Operators

Chart of Search Results for Each Search See explanations below Search Terms Results College 284 University 250 College OR University 407 College AND University 127 College NOT University 157

 

The “AND” Operator

The AND operator requires that both of the search terms are present in each record. 

The AND operator narrows your search and retrieves less results.

The more terms we combine in a search with AND logic, the fewer records we will retrieve.

Example: “College AND University” will only find the documents where the term ‘college’ and ‘university’ both appear.

 

The “OR” Operator

The OR operator broadens your search and retrieves more results.

OR logic is most commonly used to search for synonymous terms or concepts. It collates the results to retrieve records containing one term, the other, or both.

Example: “College OR University” will find documents with the terms “college”, documents with the term “university” and documents with both terms.

 

The NOT Operator

The NOT operator narrows your search and retreives less results by excluding a term. 

Exercise caution when using NOT: the term you do want may be present in an important way in documents that also contain the word you wish to avoid.   

Example: "college NOT university" will only find records where the term ‘college’ is present and the term ‘university’ is not present. 

 

Using Quotations (Phrase searching)

Quotations force words to be searched as a phrase, in the exact order you type them.  For example “working mothers”.  If you had searched for working mothers without quotation marks, you would have retrieved all records with working and mothers in the document, but not necessarily the words combined as a phrase.  Note:  Databases automatically assume you want an AND between any two words typed without a boolean operator (working AND mothers).

 

Truncation Searching

Truncation symbols allow you to search for suffix variations of root terms or words.

Examples are – Child* (will search for child, children, children’s), Nurs* (will search for nurse, nurses, nursing, nurse’s).  The characters used to represent Truncation searching will vary by database, so always check the help files.

 

Using Parenthesis (Nesting)

Use parenthesis to specify the order in which search terms will be combined.  Parenthesis MUST BE USED to group terms joined by OR when there is any other Boolean operator in the search.  Without parenthesis, terms will be combined in left-to-right order. 

Example:

If you enter:	The Database:
birds and dogs or cats	Provides records containing both birds and dogs, and records containing cats whether or not they contain birds or dogs
(birds and dogs) or cats	The same results as above
birds and (dogs or cats)	Searches for records containing dogs or cats or both, then searches this subset of records for records containing birds so that all records contain birds and dogs OR birds and cats OR birds and cats and dogs

Wildcard Searching

Wild card symbols allow you to search for spelling variations within the same or related terms.  Example – Wom?n (will search for both woman and women), Colo?r (will search for both colour and color).  The characters used to represent Wildcard searching will vary by database, so always check the help files.

 

Including or Excluding Words (+/-)

Your search may include a common word that is ignored by the database or your results may include words that you want to exclude.  To force the database to include a word in your search, use a plus sign (example:  Star Wars Episode +1).  To force the database to exclude results with an irrelevant word, use a minus sign.  For example, to find articles about surfing on the water and exclude articles about surfing the internet, search for:  surfing –internet.

 

To Access Library Databases

1. Select the Databases and eResources tab on the library’s Webpage (www.saultcollegelibrary.ca/).
2. Select the database that you would like to begin searching.
3. If you are off-campus, you will need to be logged into your SC Microsoft Office Account.

Your instructor might ask you to use journal articles for research and assignments. Follow this easy guide to find them!

1: Visit the Sault College Library website: www.saultcollegelibrary.ca

2: You can find Journal articles through the databases in 4 places from here:

• Databases icon in the Quick Links box - All databases sorted by their primary subject
• Research Link - Databases A-Z page on left hand side - All databases sorted in A-Z listing
• Research Link - Databases by subject page on left hand side - All databases sorted by their primary subject
• Program Guides icon in Quick Links box - Journals & Databases page within specific guide

 

This guide will be using the "Databases" icon link within the Quick Links box. Once that link is clicked you will be brought to the listing by subject.

3: Click on the database category that is right for your research. Keep in mind, "General Databases" are those with wide varieties of subjects, and are excellent places to start. Try "Academic Search Premier", an excellent resource for both starting research, and finding information from various types of sources.

 

4. Enter your search terms in the search box. Select the "Full-text" and/or "Peer Reviewed" limiters and hit enter

5. Browse through the results. To view the full article, click on the title

6. If you decide to use the article, you need to cite it. Find the citation button/link. In this care it is found in the top right hand corner.

7. Be sure to select the APA style. Please note: it is your responsibility to confirm the accuracy of the citation in terms of format, punctuation, etc. as per the appropriate citation style guide before pasting it into your paper. The library has paper and electronic copies of the APA Citation Guide. Ask at the library front desk for details.