LibGuides: Nursing: Journals and Databases

PICO

What is the PICO Process?
Description of the PICO process with multiple examples to assist in formulating clinical questions for research.

Our Newest Databases

National Geographic This link opens in a new window
National Geographic is a monthly multidiscipline magazine featuring intriguing articles and stunning photos. This database features magazines dating back to 1890's all the way to present day. Covers the latest issues after a minimum 45 day embargo period.
Visible Body Suite This link opens in a new window
Visible Body Suite is a 3D database of tools for Health Science programs.
To use Visible Body Suite, users will need to create an account before accessing content.

Visible Body Suite is a 3D database of tools for the health sciences, including:
• 3D views to zoom, rotate and dissect
• Animations covering body systems, pathologies and more
• Cross-sections, micro-anatomy, muscle actions
• Virtual labs and customizable flashcards (choose from our pre-made decks or create your own)
• Tours (like a 3D powerpoint (choose from our pre-made tours or create your own)
• Customization and sharing of content via link or QR code
• Works on the devices you have, includes a mobile download for access on the go
• Translates into 6 languages in addition to English

Core Nursing Databases

Core Nursing Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Millions of peer-reviewed, full-text articles available from 1980 to present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 4,500 titles covering a wide range of subject areas.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text options of the top nursing and allied health literature available including videos.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
An enormous range of health subjects including sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery and much more. Part of the Proquest Central bundle.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. Part of the Proquest Central bundle.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and more.
Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
WHEN ACCESSING REMOTELY - Login with your SC Microsoft Account and then contact the Library for the Interactive Human Anatomy Access ID

Human anatomy comes to life as you zoom, rotate, and explore interactive 3D models.
(Best viewed in Chrome or Firefox)
Journals@OVID This link opens in a new window
Mostly citations of nursing and allied health journals including MEDLINE and EBM Reviews.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on nursing, medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 1600 nursing and allied health titles including Culture Vision databases, new evidence-based nursing content and Alexander Street’s Nursing Education in Video.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 30 databases covering business, health, medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Collection of 200 journals covering the study of the mind, emotions, and development of the human mind.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Includes core literature in the field of public health. Part of the Proquest Central bundle.
YOUR JOURNALS@OVID This link opens in a new window
Full text of nursing and allied health journals.

Health Related Databases

Health Related Databases

Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text alternative health research database focused on a wide range of complimentary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR) This link opens in a new window
Combines several evidence based medicine resources into one database.
Free Medical Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text of medical journals that can be sorted by title or by specialty.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Instant access to carefully compiled medical reference and periodical materials for all levels of health research.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Covering a wide spectrum of information on physical therapy & sports medicine, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
(National Center for Biotechnology Information) PubMed offers citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, point-of-care resource for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists and rehabilitation professionals.
Includes clinical reviews, research instruments, drug information, exercise images, handbooks and guidelines.

Statistics

Statistics

Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) This link opens in a new window
The Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) makes available specific datasets and files, including public use microdata files (PUMFs), to subscribing Canadian post-secondary institutions (this includes Sault College). The annual subscription fee allows faculty, students, and staff at these institutions unlimited access to these files for research and academic purposes.
Statista - Health Sciences This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, health related consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics.

General Academic Databases

General Academic Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Millions of peer-reviewed, full-text articles available from 1980 to present.
Academic OneFile Select (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Expanded Academic ASAP. From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 4,500 titles covering a wide range of subject areas.
Canada (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Canada in Context. Covers a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places, events. Written from a Canadian perspective with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to websites.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Formerly Encyclopedia Britannica Online. Over 73,000 encyclopedia entries; also includes dictionary, thesaurus, 4,000 quotations, and 225 classic stories and speeches.
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Need an image/picture for a presentation or report? With Britannica Image Quest you can access approximately three million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best image collections in the world.
College (Gale InContext) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Gale Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Gale Research Complete is a multidiscipline resource that contains: 50 Databases, +1800 eBooks with over 4000 volumes, 400 Archives Unbound digital collections, 21 Gale Directory Library Complete titles, and 10 Literature Criticism Online collections.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Formerly General Reference Center Gold. A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Vocational Studies Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Providing content from nearly 400 journals including general career guides and highly specialized industry journals.

Print Periodicals

Flipster

Flipster This link opens in a new window
Access to online magazines. App is available from IOS and Google Play (search Flipster). Once app is downloaded please search for Sault College. You will then be asked to login. Please use your regular Sault College login information.

Nursing

PICO

Our Newest Databases

Core Nursing Databases

Health Related Databases

Statistics

General Academic Databases

Print Periodicals

Flipster

See below for featured titles

Flipster Titles