LibGuides: Diversity and Intercultural Relations: Journals and Databases

Diversity and Intercultural Relations Databases

Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Mindscape Commons This link opens in a new window
Immersive and interactive content in mental health. It presents and documents nearly 200 VR experiences, as well as some serious games and apps for teaching and research in counseling, social work, psychology, health sciences, and related programs.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 4,500 titles covering a wide range of subject areas.
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Collection of 150 journals exploring cultural differences, contributions, and influences.
Frontier Life Database This link opens in a new window
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Covers such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,900 humanities journals and books.
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.
JoVE This link opens in a new window
A video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through easy to understand video demonstrations.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of Torstar syndication newspapers published in Ontario (1980-present).
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 30 databases covering business, health, medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Collection of 200 journals covering the study of the mind, emotions, and development of the human mind.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexing of titles covering behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics. Part of the Proquest Central bundle.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
250 journals providing coverage of different religions and philosophies.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics.
Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
A web and mobile app that provides an engaging and effective environment for language learning.
To use the mobile app, you must first sign in to the desktop site, and select "Go Mobile" at the top. It will give you an access code to sign into the app.
World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Collection of 40 journals; useful to both the novice historian and advanced academic researcher.

Flipster

Flipster This link opens in a new window
Access to online magazines. App is available from IOS and Google Play (search Flipster). Once app is downloaded please search for Sault College. You will then be asked to login. Please use your regular Sault College login information.

See below for featured titles

Flipster Titles

Featured General Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Millions of peer-reviewed, full-text articles available from 1980 to present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 4,500 titles covering a wide range of subject areas.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 30 databases covering business, health, medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Collection of Canadian journals, magazines, biographies, and images.
CPI.Q (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Formerly CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index). Articles from a comprehensive list of Canadian and international publications.
Gale Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Gale Research Complete is a multidiscipline resource that contains: 50 Databases, +1800 eBooks with over 4000 volumes, 400 Archives Unbound digital collections, 21 Gale Directory Library Complete titles, and 10 Literature Criticism Online collections.
National Geographic This link opens in a new window
National Geographic is a monthly multidiscipline magazine featuring intriguing articles and stunning photos. This database features magazines dating back to 1890's all the way to present day. Covers the latest issues after a minimum 45 day embargo period.

General Databases

Academic OneFile Select (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Expanded Academic ASAP. From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
More than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Index tool for learning where to look for biographical material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor.
Book Review Index (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 5.6 million book reviews, allowing users to conduct research in numerous disciplines, including literature, history, education, psychology, and more.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Formerly Encyclopedia Britannica Online. Over 73,000 encyclopedia entries; also includes dictionary, thesaurus, 4,000 quotations, and 225 classic stories and speeches.
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Need an image/picture for a presentation or report? With Britannica Image Quest you can access approximately three million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best image collections in the world.
Canada (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Canada in Context. Covers a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places, events. Written from a Canadian perspective with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to websites.
Canadian Encyclopedia Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of the authoritative encyclopedia about Canada and its people, in English and French.
Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Nearly 600 titles related to vocational information. Part of the Proquest Central bundle.
College (Gale InContext) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Open access scientific & scholarly journals covering a wide variety of topics including health sciences, earth sciences, social sciences, business, engineering, technology, and the arts.
Federal Science Libraries Network This link opens in a new window
A one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place.
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 25,000 encyclopedia entries on a variety of topics.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Formerly General Reference Center Gold. A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.
LitFinder (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
MasterFILE Elite This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 1,100 general periodicals and indexing/abstracting for nearly 2,250 publications. Also includes over 188,000 images of photos, maps, and flags.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Vocational Studies Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Providing content from nearly 400 journals including general career guides and highly specialized industry journals.